The five major parts of Bridges - Engineering Society
Press Enter To Search
404 This page was not found

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

The five major parts of Bridges

During the design process, every bridge can be divided broadly into three parts. Superstructure Superstructure that part of the structure which supports traffic and includes deck, slab and girders. All the parts of the bridge which is mounted on a supporting system can be classified as a Super structure. 

Substructure Substructure that part of the structure, ie piers and abutments, which supports the superstructure and which transfers the structural load to the foundations. Foundation Foundation is the component which transfers loads from the substructure to the bearing strata. 

Depending on the geotechnical properties of the bearing strata, shallow or deep foundations are adopted. Usually, piles and well foundations are adopted for bridge foundations.

Share on :

Author :

No comments:

Post a Comment

live stream

Live stream with us at 7 pm





Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum.
All Rights Reserved Engineering Society
Designed by